roller coaster of emotion: the downs

There are many times in my job where things are very last minute. It has come to be expected. So when I received a call to make these fancy frame awards for a ceremony that would be presented in a week (along with a crystal award), I didn’t think much of it. I was working with a member of the organization’s board, she wanted things to be perfect. I was in such a hurry, I didn’t charge a sample fee upfront. My first mistake. Thankfully I didn’t end up wasting as much money on supplies as I did my time. Because when it came down to pay, this individual freaked at the thought of using Paypal. “Why would I go through a third party, when I am comfortable just giving you my credit card over the phone?” she had asked.

Well for one, I am not comfortable with that. I like the safety and security Paypal provides. And two: I am a small business, I try to save money where ever possible. Paypal’s fees are less costly than running transactions on a credit card machine. A couple hours later she informed me that her husband obtained a virus from downloading Paypal. Ummm, what? That doesn’t even make sense.

Her solution: She could wire me the money.

Well, great, but I wasn’t giving up my bank account number, so I suggested she go through Western Union. OR if money was no object, as she had previously stated more than once, her company could cut a check and have it over-nighted as others have done in a pinch.

No go.

In the end, the project was a complete waste. She berated me for “not accepting credit cards”. I had even offered to complete the order and ship it and she could mail the payment. She declined saying she couldn’t guarantee payment for my services.

Was it a scam? Were they just after the paltry sum in by business account or looking to rack up debt with my information? OR was it a quirky client? (I mean I have had some unusual circumstances that have been legit.)

This kind of circumstance takes it’s toll on me. Sigh.

 

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Fresh Gloss

Art + Pop culture + Creative Business

Simply M Photography | Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

Joyful. Lovely. Purely Life. Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

The Non-Consumer Advocate

Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without

Ruffled

A wedding blog for stylish brides and creative couples.

Cozy.Cottage.Cute.

creatively changing the world

sweetpickinsfurniture

Just another WordPress.com site

Mila's Daydreams

creatively changing the world

American Vagabond

Tales from here, there and everywhere

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

HOLLY BAKER [in the fun lane]

creatively changing the world

