Dude! My kid just started Kindergarten.

I should have been welcoming this, because it’s a much more effective working environment when I’m not being asked 20 million questions a day. If you know me, I do not welcome questions. I need focus and I need to make things happen. I can be amazingly patient unless I give a thoughtful explanation and then get asked the exact same question 5 minutes later. Which of course, happens all the time.

But my sidekick has gone and grown up. Relatively speaking, she’s still small. She just turned 5 last week. I didn’t feel ready to let her go. During the school’s orientation I was highly annoyed listening to the teachers discuss how well kids need to test. It’s upsetting. This is not the kindergarten I know. The world has changed dramatically since I was a kid. We didn’t learn to READ yet. You finger painted, you played, you took naps and made friends. Pre-school is the new kindergarten. There are so many more rules and I don’t know them and it’s weird.

It’s not that I don’t think my child will do well, I totally do. I just miss her saying UP!! at age 1, when she wanted on my lap. Her robotic voice at 2 ½ saying “Pick-you-up?” for when SHE wanted to be picked up. Then there was “I-help-you, Ma-ma. What’s-that-making-sound? Or “NO WANT! Each year more and more personality emerged. She has always been a stinker. Now she has to be a rule follower and my heart aches for her. I don’t want the creativity squelched by memorization. I want her to learn how to grow a garden, to transform trash into something amazing, to figure out new uses for old things instead of always buying new. To learn to sew and bake. To know that being smart doesn’t come from always knowing the answer from a textbook, but instead embracing the world around you and trying to make it better.   

For now though, I will let the teachers do their job. (It’s not like any of them are wanting to rule the kids lives with an iron fist.) And I will keep on being an awesome mama and sharing everything I know.ImageImage

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Fresh Gloss

Art + Pop culture + Creative Business

Simply M Photography | Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

Joyful. Lovely. Purely Life. Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

The Non-Consumer Advocate

Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without

Ruffled

A wedding blog for stylish brides and creative couples.

Cozy.Cottage.Cute.

creatively changing the world

sweetpickinsfurniture

Just another WordPress.com site

Mila's Daydreams

creatively changing the world

American Vagabond

Tales from here, there and everywhere

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

HOLLY BAKER [in the fun lane]

creatively changing the world

