Princess Arden’s 5th Birthday Party

Heart at entry that I cut with my new jigsaw! (An early birthday present from Joel.) Also the colorful banner Arden and I made from scrap cardstock.

Heart at entry that I cut with my new jigsaw! (An early birthday present from Joel.) Also the colorful banner Arden and I made from scrap cardstock.

I probably get way more excited about my kid’s birthday than I should, but I like making things and that adds to the fun. Granted the day of is always chaotic and crazy and makes me question my sanity. My Grandma once told me a funny story about my mom. Apparently, she LOVED parties and would throw them on a frequent basis. Except once all her friends arrived, it made her panic and she would end up hiding away in her room to avoid the crowd. I laugh when I first heard it, because I relate all too well. I love the THOUGHT of parties. The decorations, designing the invitations, planning the menu & activities.

Turns out though that I am VERY introverted. Crowds make me uncomfortable. Small talk causes my palms to sweat and I feel very anxious. My mind goes blank and suddenly I can’t remember anything noteworthy let alone interesting to converse about. I know this is the sort of thing where alcohol really comes in handy, but it either hurts my stomach or makes me sleepy. Neither of which aid in the situation, of course. I have discovered a trick that helps me out though and that’s always having something to do. Food prep during the party and I can chat it up with friends. Sewing during book club, why not? It’s a good solution, plus I get things accomplished. Prior to that, I used to cancel. A lot. And my friends got pissed because it’s annoying. So instead, I keep myself busy and don’t hide in the bedroom.

The day went along fairly smoothly. There was a lady, who I met through Craigslist who provided entertainment. I had helped her out and in return she volunteered her services for Arden’s party for free. By a twist of fate, it turned out that she could make awesome balloon animals, do face painting and even a little magic show. I’m normally very particular how I do things. I want everything a certain way and I always try to take on too much. As my husband, Joel, puts it “If you completed everything on your initial list, then you’d find more stuff to start a new one.” (Which is true. Fortunately for me he is very helpful in getting things done.) Once I met Dara though and she offered to help, I immediately relaxed just a bit. I could enjoy things a little more and of course add more tasks to my list. 🙂

I’m slowly learning to just go with the flow of things. I have to or be crippled with migraines from all the pressure I hold myself to. The cake frosting on the birthday cake I made melted looking like pink lava pouring down the sides. The giant boxes I collected never got made into a princess castle. But you know what? The cake tasted fantastic, the kids still played on the boxes and above all, Her Majesty, Princess Arden had a magical day.

The kids making crafts provided by Dara.

The kids making crafts provided by Dara.

Arden watching Dara make balloons.

Arden watching Dara make balloons.

The kids watching the magic show.

The kids watching the magic show.

A cast off light fixture becomes a beautiful pink chandelier for the party.

A cast off light fixture becomes a beautiful pink chandelier for the party.

Winky the unicorn get a make-over of a new horn, ears, mane & tail from stained up baby clothes. (She was originally made by Joel last year for Arden's cowgirl party.)

Winky the unicorn get a make-over of a new horn, ears, mane & tail from stained up baby clothes. (She was originally made by Joel last year for Arden’s cowgirl party.)

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Fresh Gloss

Art + Pop culture + Creative Business

Simply M Photography | Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

Joyful. Lovely. Purely Life. Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

The Non-Consumer Advocate

Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without

Ruffled

A wedding blog for stylish brides and creative couples.

Cozy.Cottage.Cute.

creatively changing the world

sweetpickinsfurniture

Just another WordPress.com site

Mila's Daydreams

creatively changing the world

American Vagabond

Tales from here, there and everywhere

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

HOLLY BAKER [in the fun lane]

creatively changing the world

