Where were you …

Joel and I had only been together a handful of months when we were packing up his house to rent it out. (Turns out, before we met, he had purchased a foreclosure house to fix up that was only a few streets down from mine.) We have wondered how many times we might have seen each other in merely passing by before meeting. Maybe 5, 8, 10 times or possibly not at all. Maybe the universe was waiting for the best possible moment to do it’s unveiling. We are very ‘Things happen for a reason’ people, so it’s fun for us.

Anyway, back to the story. We were boxing up his computer room, when I spotted his yearbook. I love yearbooks, probably because I was unwillingly homeschooled from 10th grade on and didn’t own any for obvious reasons. So I thoroughly enjoy looking through other people’s, if anything because it makes me feel better about myself. I can keep incredibly awkward teen year photos tucked away in a dark corner if I so choose, but there is really no hiding them if they are bound together for everyone to see in a book.

Of course, Joel looked adorable in his. His hair was jet black and spiked higher than it is now. Like 4 inches. It’s great. Apparently, he used a ton of hairspray to keep it in place as he ran track or played basketball. (This thought makes me giggle.) So I’m leafing through and he’s showing me photos of friends and then my heart sort of stops for a second. On the page it was titled “Where were you on September 11th?” And do you know where Joel was? In Junior High. OMFG!

Now I knew that he was younger and for the most part it didn’t bother me. Until now.
That realization hit me like a ton of bricks. I mean I was working IN AN OFFICE at a REAL GROWN UP JOB at that time. I was 25. I had an apartment and begrudgingly did adult things, like grocery shopping and pay bills. Here he had been off playing football, riding snow mobiles and having fun with his friends. The nerve! I don’t know why, but I was so offended and angry about something he could completely not control. I quickly shut the book, flipped out and proceeded to start an argument on the indignation of it all.

Looking back, it’s funny now. At the time though, I was pretty devastated.
It just seemed like a recipe for disaster. Our relationship age gap works well for us though, mainly in part to the fact that at 37, I still firmly believe I’m in my 20’s and Joel (having had 2 older brothers) has a deep knowledge of all things 80’s. A gem in my book!

With his beloved car he fixed up.

With his beloved car he fixed up.

Yes, he knows I posted these. :)

Yes, he knows I posted these. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Fresh Gloss

Art + Pop culture + Creative Business

Simply M Photography | Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

Joyful. Lovely. Purely Life. Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

The Non-Consumer Advocate

Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without

Ruffled

A wedding blog for stylish brides and creative couples.

Cozy.Cottage.Cute.

creatively changing the world

sweetpickinsfurniture

Just another WordPress.com site

Mila's Daydreams

creatively changing the world

American Vagabond

Tales from here, there and everywhere

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

HOLLY BAKER [in the fun lane]

creatively changing the world

