Always looking for a deal!

One of our favorite things to do on the weekend is go to yard sales. When I say we, I mean Arden and I. Joel is always with us, but I’m pretty sure he could take it or leave it, as most of the time he doesn’t find the awesome-ness that we do. As soon as the weather starts warming, we are up and at them every Saturday. A few weeks ago, I happened across a total goldmine! The best sale I had seen yet. A church rummage sale over on the outskirts of campus. We had already been out and about and were heading home when I spotted this one. Despite being famished from our already extensive ‘saleing, Joel being the sweetest and most patient man ever, kindly obliged and pulled over.

As soon as I strode up, a friendly-looking girl working the sale came over to me. She spoke in hushed tones, letting me in on an apparent secret that a generous lady had donated a bunch of Abercrombie clothes. Saying that I could stuff whatever I wanted in a paper grocery bag for five bucks. Seriously?! Woo-hoo! She didn’t need to say more, ’cause I was off! In retrospect, I definitely should have packed my bag better, but I already felt like I was getting away with something bad and didn’t want to be greedy.

Kids clothes were separate and not as plentiful, but also the same price. This time I didn’t hesitate. If it was cute and Arden could wear it at some point in her during her childhood, then it was stuffed in the bag. The check out workers chuckled to themselves as I went to town on the clothing pile. They remarked later how I was so focused. I was getting tan from the sun, it was incredibly hot and I was about to pass out from hunger and heat, but I was so pleased with myself.

Here’s a list of my haul. Not bad for $12.00! (2 dresses were purchased at a different sale)

for me:
5 dresses (2 of which were Abercrombie and still had tags)
5 tops
1 skirt

for arden:
12 tops
1 pair of jeans
1 dress
2 pairs of shorts
6 pairs of tights
3 pairs of socks

Full view of our stash!

Full view of our stash!

Rummage sale clothes dress 1 copy

The star, showing off her new shirt. She did our hair and make-up for this fashion show

Me looking like a clown. (Many thanks to the jokester that bought Arden makeup for her birthday. )

Me looking like a clown. (Many thanks to the jokester that bought Arden makeup for her birthday. )

One Comment to “Always looking for a deal!”

  1. lol Impressive haul! And I love the photo of you two beauties 🙂

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Fresh Gloss

Art + Pop culture + Creative Business

Simply M Photography | Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

Joyful. Lovely. Purely Life. Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

The Non-Consumer Advocate

Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without

Ruffled

A wedding blog for stylish brides and creative couples.

Cozy.Cottage.Cute.

creatively changing the world

sweetpickinsfurniture

Just another WordPress.com site

Mila's Daydreams

creatively changing the world

American Vagabond

Tales from here, there and everywhere

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

HOLLY BAKER [in the fun lane]

creatively changing the world

