A little bit of Arden

Arden has been home sick the last 4 days and as much as she dislikes her sneezing and coughing, I think she is secretly pleased to have a reprieve from her demanding school schedule and be catered to instead. I love that she still has a ‘little voice’, as in it has a sweetness, a baby-ness to it. There are many times however that her personality is much larger than her small self and parenting her becomes a challenge. Take for example several weeks ago, when I picked her up from school. She has a habit of just spouting out randomness. It’s my job to hurriedly categorize in my brain from whence the scenario has occurred that she is referencing. This is one such instance.

Arden: Mama, I’m sorry the bird shit on your mat.

Me: What? (Did she really just say shit?)

Arden: I’m sorry I spilled the water on the rug in the car when I stood on the jug
and then you had to pull the mat out of the car to dry and the bird shit on it.

Me: Ummm. Okay, thanks? (What do I even say to that?) I’m laughing so hard I’m shaking.

Me: Hey Arden, you know you shouldn’t say that word.

Arden: What word? Shit? I’m not supposed to say ‘shit’, Mama?

Me: No, because it’s an adult word. (How can I even make this sound like a reprimand when I can’t even keep it together with a straight face.)

Now I know why my dad had so much difficulty when I blurted out things as a kid. One time when I was 6, it was shortly after he met and married my step-mom and I was getting in trouble for dawdling with breakfast. I was called into the living room to be questioned why I took so long to eat. I said I didn’t like the pancakes. I explained that they were too starchy and stuck in my mouth. My dad lost it and laughed out loud, while his new wife grew super angry. (Believe me, I didn’t make friends that day.) But seriously, along with her roast, those damn things sucked the moisture out of your soul every time.

Arden takes a minute to take it in, then launches into a new topic. I hope that she grows out of it, but I know better. This little girl with the sparkle in her eye and sassy smile/smirk has definitely gotten my genes.

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Fresh Gloss

Art + Pop culture + Creative Business

Simply M Photography | Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

Joyful. Lovely. Purely Life. Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

The Non-Consumer Advocate

Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without

Ruffled

A wedding blog for stylish brides and creative couples.

Cozy.Cottage.Cute.

creatively changing the world

sweetpickinsfurniture

Just another WordPress.com site

Mila's Daydreams

creatively changing the world

American Vagabond

Tales from here, there and everywhere

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

HOLLY BAKER [in the fun lane]

creatively changing the world

