Pumpkin Puree.

pumpkins copy

When I was 16, my dad and step-mom left my step brother and I home while they went to go visit her family in New Jersey.
It was Thanksgiving. Or at least it would be in a couple days.
My dad owned 13 horses, mostly Arabians that he loved to trail ride and race endurance. We also had 6 dogs, a barn full of cats and a variety of other animals. When I was little it was a couple goats, then after they had a tendency to eat everything in sight, it eventually became a couple cows and the odd rabbit or skunk my dad might find as a lost baby in the field.

You get the idea.

One might get the impression that it was awesome to have all these animals. It wasn’t. They were a lot of responsibility and I didn’t share the enthusiasm for cleaning the barn every day. You couldn’t just have an impromptu vacation without out leaving someone to take care of them. Those someones were us.

Did I mention it was Thanksgiving?

I was pissed. Not so much they were leaving. I didn’t care about that. I just didn’t want to miss THE MEAL. The turkey, the stuffing, all the awesomeness that comes with it. But Oh, they left us money for pizza.

Seriously? What the beep?
I was adamant I was having a good meal with pumpkin pie.

Each year we grew a large garden to supplied us with vegetables year round. For some reason we happened to grow a couple pumpkins that year. So I marched out and picked one. I proceed to gut it, peel it and chop it up. I made pumpkin puree and by golly I made a pumpkin pie from scratch.

For some reason This year I was compelled to do the same. I get such a odd little thrill out of not wasting things. No reason for a Halloween pumpkin in great shape to not become some pie for Thanksgiving. The puree can easily be frozen and used for breads and cookies too. Here’s a link if you are ever so inclined. 🙂
http://southernfood.about.com/cs/pumpkins/a/pumpkin_recipes_2.htm

pumpkin puree copy

Relax, enjoy some time with friends and family. And best of all, eat lots of great food. I know I will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Fresh Gloss

Art + Pop culture + Creative Business

Simply M Photography | Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

Joyful. Lovely. Purely Life. Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

The Non-Consumer Advocate

Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without

Ruffled

A wedding blog for stylish brides and creative couples.

Cozy.Cottage.Cute.

creatively changing the world

sweetpickinsfurniture

Just another WordPress.com site

Mila's Daydreams

creatively changing the world

American Vagabond

Tales from here, there and everywhere

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

HOLLY BAKER [in the fun lane]

creatively changing the world

