Jail Break! : aka the birth of Camden

Mama and Cam just meeting copy

At the end of the pregnancy, it starts to feel like you’ll be pregnant forever. At least it did for me. The lumbering walk where my legs felt like they were on fire and encased in cement, the not being able to find a comfortable sleeping position no matter how many pillows, the getting up to pee every half hour, I was certainly over it. Then on the last day of July, on the evening that I was finishing up writing my previous blog post, my water broke. I actually heard an audible ‘POP’ which felt like the baby had punched me HARD. Minutes later, the floodgates opened. Being induced previously, I didn’t know what to expect. What actually happened was very what.happens.in.the.movies-like, although I had read it was the opposite and very anti-climatic. It was like Niagara Falls came out of my nether region. All that fluid I had been retaining, well here was part of it. I couldn’t go downstairs for a towel because it continued to trickle down my leg for some time and I didn’t feel like leaving a gross trail through the house. I ended up grabbing some of the baby bath towels out of Cam’s dresser, which was only a few feet away until Joel got home from work.

With progress being made, it may seem like the next logical step would be to hop in the car and go to the hospital. However, I still had a banner to make for an Etsy order I had received just the day before. I had assured the lady that had ordered it for her daughter’s birthday party that I would have it done in time. Besides, I didn’t want to sit around the hospital waiting any longer than I had to, best to stay busy. We ended up leaving for the hospital at midnight. My contractions had gotten much closer together and sort of painful, so it was time to do this.

When we got there and got checked in, we were stuck in a little room to be examined to determine if my water really did break. It was annoying. Believe me, I would have known if I just peed myself. With this pregnancy, it happened more often than I’d like. One time, I coughed hard in Target and wet my pants. Nothing is more awesome than waiting in line with a wet rear end for all to see. Except maybe the times where, on more than one occasion, Joel would have me cracking up so much I would pee a puddle on the floor, which only made him laugh harder. (Those are the times that bond a couple, LOL.) While this might be embarrassing, in reality know that while pregnant, dignity becomes a thing of the past. Between food bits managing to find their way into my shirt or spilling down the ever-expanding real estate of my belly, Jabba the Hut had nothing on me.

After what seemed like forever, we were moved to the actual labor and delivery room. Now time really seemed to crawl by. Since I was making what they considered progress, I wasn’t given any pitocin. The nurses told me I was doing great, but whatever. I wasn’t allowed to have my regular crack-of-dawn snack, so I didn’t care how much they cheered me on. By 3 a.m. I was hooked up with a pretty sweet epidural, which started making this entire process tremendously better. My mood improved considerably. Every so often the anesthesiologist would check back to see if it needed topped off, which was amazing, because my body was pretty damn slow to dilate.

And so this went on for hours. Joel and I both fading in and out of sleep/delirium between being exhausted and famished. It wasn’t until a little after 2 in the afternoon of the next day that Cam was finally born. The umbilical cord looped around his neck twice like Arden’s has been. He ended up outdoing his sister by having it knotted around his neck like a tie. Coming out blue, he freaked out Joel a bit, but the team was on it and quickly revived him. After Cam was cleaned up, Joel plopped down with him and a bottle and fed his son like he’d been ready for this moment his whole life.

Before we knew it, we were home again. Another family member larger. It was surreal, having this baby. The mind is a funny thing. Even though I knew I had just had a baby, the pregnancy already seemed so far off. Then I look at him and hold him and think “Well maybe it wasn’t so bad after all.”

Arden and Cam at 3 and a hlf weeks copy

One Comment to “Jail Break! : aka the birth of Camden”

  1. My beautiful great grandchildren…love you all…Grandma

Leave a Reply

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Fresh Gloss

Art + Pop culture + Creative Business

Simply M Photography | Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

Joyful. Lovely. Purely Life. Middle Tennessee Lifestyle Family Photographer

The Non-Consumer Advocate

Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without

Ruffled

A wedding blog for stylish brides and creative couples.

Cozy.Cottage.Cute.

creatively changing the world

sweetpickinsfurniture

Just another WordPress.com site

Mila's Daydreams

creatively changing the world

American Vagabond

Tales from here, there and everywhere

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

HOLLY BAKER [in the fun lane]

creatively changing the world

